An Evening to Support Scholarships For Our Students

On Tuesday, March 6, 2018 the New York School of Interior Design held its Annual Gala co-chaired by NYSID Trustees Alexa Hampton, Betsey Ruprecht, Maria Spears and Newell Turner.

It was a beautiful and celebratory evening with designers, writers, publishers, architects, donors and other friends including NYSID Trustees, Advisory Board members and Alumni. All proceeds from the evening go directly to benefit NYSID scholarships. More than 225 guests turned out to honor our distinguished award recipients.


Suzanne Rheinstein

Albert Hadley Lifetime Achievement Award

Jorge Sánchez

Thomas N. Armstrong III Award in Landscape Design

Edwina von Gal

Green Design Award


Thank you to everyone who helped make this our most successful dinner yet! Your generous participation will provide much needed scholarship support to our students, the designers of the future. If you would like to make a gift in support of scholarships, click here.

Gala Supporters


Bill & Maria Spears


S. Donadic, Inc.
Suzanne Rheinstein
Danielle & Glenn Richter


Kate & Alexander Brodsky
Janet & Elliot Greene
The Shubert Organization
Michael I. & Patricia M. Sovern


Kravet Inc.
Cullman & Kravis Associates
David Kleinberg
Charlotte Moss
New York Design Center, Inc.
Betsey Ruprecht
SMI Landscape Architecture, Inc.
Robert A.M. Stern Architects


Elle Décor
Alexa Hampton
Hearst DesignGroup
House Beautiful
Jana and Gerold Klauer


Geoffrey Bradfield
Allesandra Branca
Bond Schoeneck & King/Joanna L. Silver, Esq.
Jill H. & Dan Dienst/Dienst + Dotter Antikviteter
Fiera Capital
The Garden Conservancy


Anonymous (1)
Chip Allemann & John Danzer
Arlene Angard*
Whitney B. Armstrong
Murali Balasubramanian, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Shelly Belling, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Ike Kligerman Barkley
Charlotte Barnes
Krystyna Breger and Magda Banka
Judy Burgert*
Mrs. Coleman P. Burke
Dara Caponigro
Elizabeth Dinkel
Kathleen M. Doyle
Eliza Dyson and Joel LeVangia
Leta Austin Foster & Associates
David Fox and Chris Ston
Wendy Goodman
Milan Hughston
Anne Korman*
Gail Levenstein
Silvina Leone*
Lawrence A. Levy*
Brooke Lichtenstein* and Yiannos Vrousgos*
Dennis Miller
Susan B. Nagle* and Peter Bentel
Kathy Prounis
Brian Sawyer
James Shearron
William P. Short III, in memory of Nancy Jean Fulop Short*
SMI Landscape Architecture, Inc.
Alison Spear & Alex Reese
Christopher Spitzmiller
David Sprouls & Kate Wood
Steven Stolman & Rich Wilkie
Taconic Builders, Inc.
Traditional Home
Edwina von Gal
Court Whisman*


Mary-Randolph Ballinger, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein and Jorge Sánchez
Constance Goodyear Baron & Barry C. Baron
Margaret Bates and Scott Johnson, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Sarah and Douglas Brown, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Jane T. Breece
Joy Cooper
Bob Correll, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Michael Formica
Susanne & Douglas Durst
Anne Eisenhower*
Clair Fitzgerald*
Mr. & Mrs. J.P. Fanjul, in honor of Jorge Sánchez
Thom Filicia
Jeff Gates/Gates Capital Management, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Susan Zises Green*/Susan Zises Green, Inc. ASID
Helen Hecht
Tove R. Hermanson* and Jeffrey Leib
Chery Horacek, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Howard Capital Management, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Lou & Georgia Howe, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
David Kagen
Arthur Satz King
Brian Landers, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Jack Lenor Larsen
Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin F. Lenhardt, Jr.
Ginger & Bill Lincoln
Brian J. McCarthy Inc.
Valerie Mead*
Tamara Meadow*
Michele & Chris Meany – in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
George Nakashima Woodworkers
Deborah Royce
Elizabeth & Paul G. Sittenfeld, in honor of Suzanne Rheinstein
Rose Tarlow* Melrose House
Barbara Tober
Barbara Toll
Marica and Jan Vilcek
Erin Wells*
Bunny Williams & John Rosselli
Abby & Jon Winkelried, in honor of Jorge Sánchez

*NYSID Alumni