A Message from President David Sprouls

Happy New Year!

I hope you had an invigorating holiday break and are as eager as I am for the start of another semester of study and pioneering design. The New York School of Interior Design has already started the ball rolling with a number of exciting public programs.

Highlighting the work of remarkable design professionals, this season of public programs at NYSID will feature high-profile speakers discussing innovative ideas in art and design and providing insight for professionals, prospective students and interior design enthusiasts. I am excited to announce architect, founder and chief executive officer of Sweeten, Jean Brownhill; members of the NYC LGBT Historic Sites Project; and author, speaker and designer of TLC’s hit show, Trading Spaces, Laurie H. Smith will participate in panels and lectures on topics about interior design, architecture, and the built environment.

Kicking off this season of programs is editor in chief of Interior Design magazine, Cindy Allen on Wednesday, January 30 at 6PM in the Arthur Satz Auditorium. Be sure when you visit our lectures, you also take a few moments to enjoy the current exhibition located in the NYSID Gallery.

The return of Dialogues on Design will also resume in February with principals of Carrier and Company Interiors, Jessie Carrier and Mara Miller. The design duo will discuss their approach to the industry by sharing their inspiration and influences, their leadership and response to trends, and the evolution of the field. Students in particular are encouraged to sign up and attend this lecture series free of charge.

Thank you to the entire campus community — students, faculty and staff, members of our Board of Trustees and Advisory Board members, donors, and to our alumni who are the living, breathing proof that when you combine creative intelligence and passion, you can achieve great things. I look forward to witnessing the strides we take this spring in our ongoing efforts to build a national model for student and academic success.


David Sprouls

Phyllis Greer