David Sprouls,

Email: president@nysid.edu
Telephone: 212-452-4191


President David Sprouls has a long history with NYSID, serving as vice president of enrollment management and director of admissions before being appointed president in 2012. Before his tenure at NYSID, President Sprouls worked in admissions in Albright College and the Fashion Institute of Technology. He received a BA in Art History and American Studies from Rutgers College and a BFA in Restoration from the Fashion Institute of Technology.

Read a Q&A with the president.

Dr. Ellen Fisher,
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean



Ellen Fisher has been with NYSID since 1999, beginning her career at the College as a member of the faculty, and later becoming lower division area coordinator, associate vice president for academic affairs, and ultimately, vice president of academic affairs and dean in 2012. Fisher is a New York State certified interior designer, with graduate degrees in teaching with technology, and architectural studies. She earned a PhD in Architectural Studies/Human Environmental Sciences from the University of Missouri in 2011. For many years, she maintained an active design practice in the New York metropolitan area. Her many areas of expertise include evidence-based design, design & literacy, and digital learning.

Jane Chen,
Vice President for Finance and Administration



Jane Chen came to NYSID as chief financial officer in 2003, and became vice president for finance and administration in 2004. She serves as the chief financial officer on all fiscal matters and oversees the management of all NYSID’s financial and administrative functions. Prior to her role at NYSID, she worked in finance/accounting for the American Federation of Arts, The New School, and The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Jane Chen is a certified public accountant, with a MA in accounting from the University of Georgia and a BS in accounting/finance from National Taiwan University.  


Faculty and Staff

NYSID's faculty represents a wide range of contemporary approaches to interior design and related disciplines. Among its members are renowned theorists, critics and historians and some of New York's leading interior design practitioners.


Board of Trustees and Advisory Board

NYSID is fortunate to have an energetic and involved Board of Trustees, made up of interior designers, textile designers, gallery owners, financial officers, furniture and antique dealers, and entrepreneurs. “Boards are often not very involved in the day-to-day life of a school, but our Board is really loyal and invested in moving the institution forward in the growing professionalization of the field,” said NYSID board Chairman Emeritus Patricia Sovern.

The Board of Trustees has ultimate responsibility for the financial, administrative, and academic affairs of NYSID. The role of a trustee is a vitally important one. It is the Board that, collectively, bears fiduciary responsibility for the College and provides for its overall leadership. The Board works closely with the president and senior administration in developing the institution’s near-and long-term goals, setting major policies, and approving curricula and budgets, managing the College’s assets, and spending of the capital funds.

The Advisory Board is made up of successful designers, architects, and executives from related industries. They give the College guidance on new developments in the design fields as well as help forging relationships and creating opportunities for NYSID students.


Board of Trustees

Ellen Kravet, Chairman
David Sprouls, NYSID President

Jill H. Dienst
James P. Druckman
Cheryl S. Durst
Susan Zises Green
Alexa Hampton
David Kleinberg
Anne Korman
Dennis Miller
Susan B. Nagle
Betsey Ruprecht
David Scott
Maria Spears
Newell Turner
Kelly M. Williams

Eric J. Gering, Faculty Trustee
Joanna L. Silver, Esq., General Counsel
Elaine Wingate Conway, Trustee Emerita
Alexander C. Cortesi, Trustee Emeritus
Inge Heckel, Trustee Emerita
Patricia M. Sovern, Chairman Emeritus

Advisory Board

Stanley Abercrombie
Christian P. Árkay-Leliever
Amory Armstrong
Robin Klehr Avia
Geoffrey Bradfield
Michael Bruno
Birch Coffey
Kathleen M. Doyle
David Anthony Easton
Anne Eisenhower
Mica Ertegun
Ross J. Francis
Mariette Himes Gomez
Gerald A. Holbrook
Thomas Jayne
Wolfram Koeppe
Jack Lenor Larsen
Michael Manes
Charlotte Moss
Michele Oka Doner
Barbara Ostrom
Sylvia Owen
Charles Pavarini, III
Robyn Pocker
James Stewart Polshek
Ann Pyne
John Saladino
Peter Sallick
Lady Henrietta Spencer-Churchill
Alexandra Stoddard
Calvin Tsao
Bunny Williams
Vicente Wolf


Academic Advisory Boards


Peter Brandt, former Director of Undergraduate Studies, New York School of Interior Design
Sonya Dufner, Principal, Gensler
Danielle Galland, Principal, Danielle Galland Interior Design, Inc.
Darris James, Senior Associate, Gensler
Krista Ninivaggi, Founder, K & Co, LLC
Jeffrey Ornstein, CEO, J/Brice International, Inc.



Erika Reuter, Senior Associate HOK
Kati Curtis, Principal, Kati Curtis Design
Alexis Oliver, Senior Designer, Meyer Davis
Emma Lazarus, Director of Programming and Planning, TPG Architecture
Haley Wiley, Marketing and Communications, Arquitectonica



Stephen Bernstein, IALD, IES, principal, Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Desig
Renee Joosten, 1st degree connection1st, Lighting Design Director at ICRAVE Design Studio
Charles Pavarini III, principal, Charles Pavarini III Design Associates
William Schwinghammer, principal, Schwinghammer Lighting
Jean Sundin, IESNA, IALD, PLDA , Office for Visual Interaction, Inc. (OVI)
Linnaea Tillett, principal, Tillett Lighting Design Inc.



Bill Browning, founding partner, Terrapin Bright Green, LLC
Christy Everett, founder, Respondé Furnishings
Stephanie Odegard, creative director and president, Stephanie Odegard Collection
Campion Platt, architect and interior designer, president, Campion Platt Interiors

Alumni Council Members 2019-20

*Marie Aiello ’04 AAS 
Ruth Burt ’88 AAS
Lawrence Chabra ’09 BFA
Allison Davis ’05 BFA
*Krista Gurevich ’16 MFA-1
*Michael Harold ’10 BFA
Faith Hoops ’18 BFA
Don Kossar ’95 BFA
Maisie Lee ’00 BFA
*Lawrence Levy ’05 BFA, President
*Drew McGukin ’10 AAS 
Valerie Mead ’00 BFA
Charles Pavarini ’81 BFA 
George Peters ’08 BFA
Ethel Rompilla ’84 BFA
*Linda Sclafani ’90 BFA
Susan Thorn ’96 AAS
*Erin Wells ’04 BFA 
*Court Whisman ’05 AAS

*also members of the Working Group