NYSID honored David Kleinberg; Charlotte Moss; Brian Sawyer | Berson Architecture & Landscape Architecture, LLP; and Paul Scialla, Delos at Annual Gala Dinner

New York, NY – March 8, 2017 – This year, NYSID honored renowned designer David Kleinberg with the Albert Hadley Lifetime Achievement Award. The legendary Charlotte Moss received the NYSID Centennial Medal. The noted landscape architect Brian Sawyer, co-founder of Sawyer | Berson Architecture & Landscape Architecture, LLP, was awarded the Thomas N. Armstrong III Award in Landscape Design. Lastly, Paul Scialla, well-known champion of sustainable design and CEO of Delos™, received the Green Design Award. The awards ceremony and gala dinner, co-chaired by Alexa Hampton, Maria Spears and Newell Turner, took place at a private club in New York City.

It was a wonderful evening celebrating the college’s centennial and honoring a group of remarkable designers. Chairman of the Board of Trustees Patricia M. Sovern stated in her welcoming remarks: “This year we graduate our 100th Class, and do so ranked the #1 program in the country for interior design education. With our centennial celebration we renew NYSID’s commitment to education, to the profession of interior design, and to promoting a deep appreciation of the important contributions design makes to our lives and society.” Funds raised from the event benefit the NYSID Centennial Scholarship Fund.

Among those who attended the benefit were: Caleb Anderson, Leslie Banker, Peter Bentel, John Berson, Stacey Bewkes, Rebecca Birdwell, Michael Boodro, Leslie Bowman, Tom Cashin, Bryan Dicker, Sophie Donaldson, Kathleen Doyle, Jamie Drake, Nancy and James P. Druckman, Anne Eisenhower & Wolfgang Flottl, Carolyn Englefield, Eleanora Kennedy, John Danzer, Brad Ford, Steven Gambrel, Glenn Gissler, Alex Gorlin, Antonia & James Gorton, Hugh & Tiziana Hardy, Jane Scott Hodges, Gerald Holbrook, John Ike, Jay Johnson, Celerie Kemble, James LaForce, William Li, Brian McCarthy, Renee Meyers, Charles Miers, Dennis Miller, Tatyana Miron, Peter Murdock, Susan B. Nagle, Mario Nievera, Brian Ninnis, Nelle Nugent & Jolyon Stern, Sandra Nunnerley, Liz O’Brien, Nathan Oresman, Alex Papachristidis, Alexandra Pappas, Cynthia Hazen Polsky, Kathy Prounis, Markham Roberts, Robert Rufino, Betsey Ruprecht, Margaret Russell, Susanna Salk, Tom Samet, James Sansum, Andrew & Denise Saul, David Scott, Oscar Shamamian and Llewellyn Sinkler, Debra Shriver, Stephen Sills, Christopher Spitzmiller, David Sprouls, Alan Tanksley, Jacqueline Terrebonne, Alberto Villalobos, Edwina von Gal, Vicente Wolf, Kate Wood, Douglas C Wright, III, and John Yunis


About New York School of Interior Design
Ranked the #1 interior design school in the United States by DesignIntelligence, the New York School of Interior Design is a private, nonprofit college focused exclusively on interior design. The college offers certificate, undergraduate, and graduate programs for students at all stages of their careers—whether they’re just becoming familiar with the discipline, considering a career change, or looking to deepen knowledge in a particular area. We have more than 600 students studying residential and commercial interior design, with specialties in sustainabledesign, lighting, and healthcare interiors. Because of our small class size and sharp focus, our students receive a great deal of personal attention from our dedicated faculty, and they go on to practice at the highest levels of the profession.

To learn more, visit our website at NYSID.edu.