Annual Spring Benefit

Design is on everybody’s mind when spring arrives in New York City. Between ICFF, Kips Bay Decorator Showhouse, and the inaugural NYCxDESIGN fair, the design world made sure their calendar included NYSID’s April 30th Spring Benefit Dinner to usher in the design season.

Celebrated art, design, and architecture luminaries came (see guests here) to celebrate two industry icons: interior designer Geoffrey Bradfield, who was the recipient of the Albert Hadley Lifetime Achievement Award, and landscape architect Laurie D. Olin, who received the Thomas N. Armstrong III Award in Landscape Design, both presented by NYSID president, David Sprouls. 

The illustrious Alexa Hampton, interior designer and NYSID trustee, was the benefit chairman presiding over the sparkling crowd, here with president David Sprouls. The event raised approximately $250,000, with the proceeds going to support NYSID scholarships.
Bradfield, one of the most international acclaimed designers of our time, welcomed many guests as long-time friends, as he is known for creating elegant and luxurious interiors for private residences, offices, embassies, and resorts on virtually every continent as well as those of many yachts and jets that travel among them. 

Laurie D. Olin—founder and principal of OLIN and a distinguished landscape architect, teacher, and author—was equally lauded by clients and admirers. Both men received a special "Champs Elysee” bowl designed by Marc Lalique to commemorate the occasion.

The Who’s Who list of Design Notables attending included Mario Buatta, Michael Boodro, Iris Dankner, Thom Filicia, Alexander Gorlin, Elizabeth Guest, Peter Pennoyer, Stephanie Odegard, Chad Stark, Vincente Wolf and Thomas Woltz.

Notable guests and A-listers came to support the College such as Martha Stewart, Ralph Rucci, Chuck and Ellen Scarborough, Michael S. and Tara Rockefeller, Ambassador John Loeb and Sharon Handler Loeb,  Richard and Mary Ellen Oldenburg,  CeCe and Lee Black,  Barbara de Portago,  Eric Javits,  Mary Hilliard,  Amy Hoadley,  Rachel Hovnanian,  Chiu-Ti Jansen,  Yue-Sai Kan,  Arnold and Hilda Neis,  Cynthia and Leon Polsky,  William Ruprecht,  Michael Sovern,  Monique van Vooren,  Gabrielle von Langendorff, and many others.

NYSID trustees attending included Armory Armstrong,  Jill Dienst,  James P. Druckman,  Ross J. Francis,  Elliot Greene,  Jodie W. King,  Anne Korman, Dennis Miller, Betsey Ruprecht,  David Scott, Terry Kleinberg, and NYSID chairman, Patricia Sovern (shown here with Ross Francis on the left and Michael Sovern, middle).  Also attending were Matthew DeMarco as NYSID Legal Counsel and VP of Academic Affairs and Dean, Ellen Fisher.

It was a beautiful evening celebrating two design icons and the community that makes New York School of Interior Design such a wonderful educational and cultural institution in New York City!

Phyllis Greer