The Educated Eye Luncheon

New York School of Interior Design continued its centennial celebrations with The Educated Eye,  a luncheon at a private club in New York City on September 20, 2016.  See photos from the event here. On this occasion the College also recognized the 120th anniversary of House Beautiful, a long-time ally and often partner in advancing the appreciation of interior design and the education of designers.  More than 120 designers, leaders throughout the industry, and design aficionados attended the event.

The Educated Eye featured three dynamic illustrated presentations by design-world tastemakers about passions that inspire their work. Sophie Donelson, editor-in-chief of House Beautiful, spoke about the magazine’s work over the decades to provide the latest developments, insights, and design resources always inspiring an ever-growing readership to know that a beautiful life begins at home. Christopher Spitzmiller recounted his path for this audience of friends, colleagues, clients, and mentors from talented ceramicist to renowned lamp impresario and previewed his expanding work in tableware and accessories. Bunny Williams revealed her inspirations and secrets in design for living and in life. NYSID chairman of the board Patricia M. Sovern welcomed guests, trustee Newell Turner provided the introductions, and president David Sprouls previewed upcoming events to further the education of one’s eyes: Dialogues on Design for 2016-2017, DESIGNONLEX on October 13, 2016, and the College’s Annual Benefit Dinner on March 6, 2017 honoring David Kleinberg, Charlotte Moss, Sawyer/Berson Architecture and Landscape Architecture, and Delos Living, Paul Scialla founder and CEO.

Guests at the luncheon included Charlotte Barnes, Sam Blount, Ellie Cullman, Frank de Biasi, Jill Dienst, Emily Eerdsman, Clair Fitzgerald, Mark Gilbertson, Glenn Gissler, Susan Gutfreund, Alexa Hampton, Duane Hampton, Valerie Hyman, Barbara Israel, Thomas Jayne, Steven Jonas, David Kleinberg, Ellen Kravet, Richard Keith Langham, Amy Lau, Ellen Liman, Drew McGukin, Dennis Miller, Cynthia Murphy, Susan Nagle, Silvia Owen, Alex Papachristidis, Robyn Pocker, Ann Pyne, Elizabeth Pyne, Katie Ridder, Tara Rockefeller, Betsey Ruprecht, Tom Scheerer, Stephen Sills, Kate Kelly Smith, Alison Spear, Alan Tanksley, Alberto Villalobos, Maria von Bothmer Villalba, and Douglas Wright.

Phyllis Greer